Fort Collins DUI Tips: 10 Tips from a DUI Lawyer
If you’ve been charged with a Fort Collins DUI, you need to know what to expect. We’re sharing the guide you need to protect your rights and future.
We all know that getting a DUI is a big deal, one that often has consequences for years to come.
We get it; everyone makes mistakes sometimes and sometimes knowing your blood alcohol level can be tricky.
There’s a big difference between driving after two or three drinks, where your blood-alcohol percentage could be over the legal limit by just 0.1% and driving while you see double.
So what do you do if you made a simple mistake, didn’t harm anyone, but are still facing a Fort Collins DUI?
During times like these, you’ll want to work with a lawyer that knows how to handle a Fort Collins DUI case.
The attorneys with Fort Collins Justice know what it takes to protect your future from a DUI interfering with your success. To help you navigate a Fort Collins DUI charge against you, we’ve put together some information you need to know.
If you have a Fort Collins DUI charge, these are 10 tips from a DUI lawyer you’ll want to read
Be cooperative and respectful with your officer
If you are ever interacting with a police officer, you will want to be cooperative and respectful in order to stay out of trouble and answer their questions properly.
When you are pulled over under suspicion of a DUI, that is not the time to raise your voice and insist that you’ve done nothing wrong and that the cop is just looking to fill a quota.
The first thing you need to keep in mind is that your officer is looking for a reason to arrest you. They are observing you to see if you have been drinking and if they have probable cause to arrest you for a DUI.
Similarly, protesting a DUI charge could also result in you getting handed a “resisting arrest” charge.
So remember to be respectful and give them the paperwork they are asking for, answer questions simply and politely.
First time DUI offense?
Getting a jail sentence is rare for people who are working through their first DUI charge.
Though there is a minimum holding time that first-time offenders must navigate, 5 days in jail, anyone with a blood alcohol level over 0.20 must spend some time in jail.
If you’re a first time DUI offender, you may face fines as a result of your charge under the Colorado law. These can range from anywhere between $200 to $1,000.
The different in cost can be credited to whether or not you are facing a DUI or DWAI charge.
Your drivers license after your DUI
Knowing what happens to your drivers license after you get a DUI is important if you want to avoid accidentally driving with a suspended license.
Because if you receive a DUI or DWAI, your license will be revoked under Colorado State Law.
You will eventually be able to apply for a reinstated license through the DMV. Sometimes, you’ll be asked to use a machine that tests your breath before you are able to start the car.
Taking an alcohol course before you begin driving is also mandated.
Is this your second or third offense?
Once you faced your first DUI, you were able to be treated somewhat leniently under the law.
However, a second or third DUI is not treated the same way.
As soon as you get that second DUI, you have just received a misdemeanor charge of driving under the influence. If someone was harmed by your driving during that time, you will face a felony DUI charge.
That’s why it’s best to avoid all situations of drinking and driving. Even if you are under the limit, this is just good judgement. Especially if you’ve already had a DUI.
What can happen if you refuse the test
If the officer who pulled you over is requesting that you do a “field sobriety test,” you do have the right to refuse it. This is true even if they don’t expressly tell you that you have a choice at that point.
Refusing the roadside test could be in your benefit because it does not give the officer evidence to arrest you. However, it can also be taken as a sort of admission of guilt.
Chances are you will be arrested and have to undergo a mandatory test while in custody.
What if you were barely over the legal limit of 0.8?
In cases where you were barely over the legal limit of 0.8, you may see that you are charged with a DWAI if it is not a DUI.
This means “driving while ability impaired,” and that typically means that you were behind the wheel with a blood-alcohol level below or at 0.8 or that the officer believes you are under the influence of a drug.
Because of that, you may still be faced with arrest, a charge, and the need to go to court.
Breathalyzers aren’t always accurate
Were you were given a breathalyzer test? You need to know that these tests aren’t always accurate and this could be used in court to defend you.
That’s why it’s recommended to take a breathalyzer test over a blood or urine test if you must for a DUI charge.
Did the officer have a reason to pull you over?
It’s important to see if the officer had a reason to pull you over.
Were you were pulled over for having a broken tail light and ended up being arrested for a DUI or DWAI? You will want to bring up this information with your legal team.
When something like that happens, your team will have to review what this means in light of the entire case and if the officer had reasonable suspicion to believe you were drinking.
Don’t help out the other side
One of the most important pieces of information you need to keep in mind is that you should not do anything to “help” the officer give you a DUI and arrest you.
This means being polite and giving them the right information. But it also means that you should not volunteer additional information or get out of your car unless you absolutely need to.
Even if it seems harmless, police officers are taking note of everything you say. This can be used against you.
Don’t contact the police department after your arrest. For that matter, continue to argue after you’ve been arrested without first getting legal representation.
Find a solid legal team
If you find yourself facing a Fort Collins DUI charge, you don’t want to go it alone.
Working with a quality legal team is the best opportunity you get to avoid a formal DUI charge.
Call around and speak to different Fort Collins DUI lawyers in your area. Inquire about fees and past cases before you make your decision.
If one lawyer is significantly cheaper than the others, avoid working with them! You’ve likely heard the phrase “you get what you pay for.” Fighting a legal battle is not the time to save a few pennies!
If you’d like to work with a talented legal team in Fort Collins, contact us. And if you want more information, check out
And if you want more information, check out our page of resources, like this guide, to help you through any legal issues you may have.